Posted in Encouragement, Inspiration, Life, Love, Motivation, Peace, Positivity, Relationships, Uncategorized

Honoring Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, JR.

It’s great to study the words of a man so many admire, but it’s the actions of living out such text that brings about change. When you read the words of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, JR., how do they most inspire you? What do they awaken in you that if expressed and/or put into motion could create an individual, community, state, etc. transformation?

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.”

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.”

“Let no man pull you low enough to hate him.”

“Love is the only force capable of transforming an enemy into friend.”

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.”

“The time is always right to do what’s right.”

“Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.”

“Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.”

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.”

“If I cannot do great things, I can do small things in a great way.”

“If you can’t fly then run; if you can’t run then walk; if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving.”

“If you lose hope, somehow you lose the vitality that keeps moving. You lose that courage to be, that quality that helps you go on in spite of it all. And so today I still have a dream.”

 

©2018 CSNelson, dontforgetthehalf

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

3 thoughts on “Honoring Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, JR.

  1. Dr. King is in inspiration in how he stood up for equality and unity. He loved everyone, as his Christian faith tells him, and wanted to make this country a place where all are respected, treated fairly and given opportunity. If only he had lived longer…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …Amen to that (if only). I believe his life in present day would’ve created such positive change, though resistance from some may have stayed strong. We all speak of equality and unity, but unfortunately definitions vary so significantly, common ground seems nowhere in sight. I personally will continue to exercise love with all because I too live what my faith teaches. God bless!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment