Posted in Free Verse, Life, Poetry, Prompt, Relationships, Uncategorized

Black Cloud

Strong winds blow,

door rattles, the sound

crushing my comfort,

in repose, eyes wide open.

Quiet storm hiding

within this cloud,

suddenly thunder claps

shaking the foundation.

Flash of lightning…CLACK!

Rumbling resounds againBOOM!

Another strike, and again

never the same place twice.

Fearful tears, stomach

turned upside down

seeking refuge, patiently

awaiting the calm.

Sounds of peace a lie,

gullible, I emerge.

(thunder)…BOOM! (lightning)…CLACK!

Darkness monopolized the night.


©️2021 CSNelson, Don’t Forget the Half

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

8 thoughts on “Black Cloud

  1. Wow! That’s a strong message. During this covid-19 time, many women are feeling more isolated than ever before. Your poem actually touch a very real social issue that we need to pay attention more. Keep up with that message.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, it’s an unfortunate circumstance but response to this pandemic has left a lot of people at home with their abusers. Lighthearted content doesn’t speak to everyone’s reality and I feel this is an issue that needs to be confronted.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment