Posted in Prompt, Q&A, Thoughts, Uncategorized

FPQ – say what?…how?

In the context of blogging and writing, what do you think is more important: what you say or how you say it?

In blogging and writing in general, I think the “how” is more important than the “what” because I believe how you say something determines whether or not the reader remains engaged. Just as with talking, the right phraseology sets the tone and either keeps or loses the audience. They will receive the message in different ways according to how it’s expressed, which could make a subject they’re least interested in sound appealing. No matter what you’re writing you have to question formal vs. informal language; Poetry vs. prose; first vs. third person; immediate gratification vs. suspense.

Think about how many articles you read concerning wearing masks and which was more clear to you: “wear a mask, save a life” or “don’t wear a mask and you die” or “we’re asking everyone to do their part to help save lives by wearing a mask.” They set out with the same intent but how they were written made a difference. Well, for some.


©️2021 CSNelson, Don’t Forget the Half

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

One thought on “FPQ – say what?…how?

Leave a comment