Posted in Fiction, Holidays, Hope, Life, Love, People, Prompt, Relationships, stories, Uncategorized

My Only Sunshine (Fiction)

They’d been dating since 2016 and their lustrum of love and affection had become all she thought about. It all started as a passionate idyll after Diane’s ugly divorce but she and Charlie had become the hottest couple in town. He’d always shown great concern for her welfare, making sure she felt loved, safe and secure. Valentine’s Day was here and Diane hoped this was the year Charlie would take her from being Miss to Mrs.

As they sat enjoying dinner, surrounded by five dozen roses and romantic music playing on the Echo Dot, Diane was trying hard to contain her nervous excitement. Both their hearts began beating fast as dessert arrived. It was Diane’s favorite white chocolate cake topped with a beautiful shiny gift box. Is this the moment she’s dreamed of? Is her fantasy becoming reality?

Diane was almost in shock as she smiled, laughed and cried a little opening her Valentine’s latest surprise. Suddenly the smile turned into a frown of disappointment seeing nothing but a diamond sunburst necklace. As she looked to Charlie with confusion, there he was down on one knee declaring Diane the light of his life; his ray of sunshine on a rainy day; a brilliant woman perfectly flawed, as he looked at her with an 18K white gold 5 Carat diamond ring in hand and asked, “Will you be my forever love?”


©️2021 CSNelson, Don’t Forget the Half

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

4 thoughts on “My Only Sunshine (Fiction)

Leave a comment