Posted in Inspiration

Half of What, You Ask?

484413653-quote-you-must-be-true-to-yourself-strong-enough-to-be-true-to-yourself-brave-enough-to-be-strong-sylvia-ashton-warner-337463

As with many bloggers, and writers in general, the idea for this blog came from personal experience. “Don’t forget the half” is something I say in the doctor’s office almost every time they record my height. I stand proudly at 5’9.5″, but either in their haste or total disregard that translates to them as 5’9″. Now I’ll admit, I haven’t been so outspoken when the same oversight occurs with my weight, but that’s another story.

The flow of this blog will address how people cut themselves short, and allow others to do the same, not recognizing their full potential or living their authentic life. Not too long ago I watched an Oprah Winfrey special during which TD Jakes spoke something very profound. He said “when you are built to be tall, you will endanger your position if you lower your perspective.” In other words, people don’t need to agree with or accept your position. That’s why it’s yours, not theirs. State it…Claim it…Live it!

I could go on, and I plan on doing just that, but not right now.  I want to leave you with something to think about as you go thru your day tomorrow.  Pay attention to how you address people, how they address you, and everything you may say about yourself and anything in your life.  If you think about shying away from saying something simply because you want to downplay yourself, don’t.  DON’T FORGET THE HALF!!!

I’d love to hear your feedback. Let’s talk about the “half” you’ve been neglecting.


© 2014 CSNelson, dontforgetthehalf

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

5 thoughts on “Half of What, You Ask?

  1. “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate but that we are powerful beyond measure…”, Marianne Williamson in a Return to Love…or some rememberr it from the movie Coach Carter. I remember the first time I ever heard it. I stopped the movie and wore it down word for word it touched me so deeply… can you imagine if we all embraced our power within to be an influence to others. I applaud you again…and I love it!!! I can’t wait to follow your new blog :-)!

    Like

  2. I have never been shy to say what’s on my mind. Maybe it’s cause I am only 5’2″. I look forward to reading your blog.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Janette. I’ve always loved and appreciated that about you, but there are so many people out there that struggle with living their truth out in the open. Time for a change.

      Like

Leave a comment