Posted in Christmas, Family, Hobbies, Prompt, Uncategorized

Merry Christmas 2020 – gifts

Michael at Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie posed the following challenge: This week, because it is Christmas Eve, write about a gift you received or gave, or about being gifted in some way.

When I was a little girl I somehow became obsessed with the Betty Boop character. It all started with a nightshirt my mother gave me that I wore until all print faded. For many years after, my collection steadily grew to include a range of items from T-shirts and socks to a custom license plate, all gifted me either for Christmas or my birthday. One year my best friend gave me a porcelain cookie jar in the shape of Betty Boop on a motorcycle, and her husband added to my figurine collection with a few gems he found in New York City. Soon, their oldest daughter joined in with some lovely surprises of her own, including a Betty Boop salt-n-pepper shaker and Tervis drinking cup.

Instagram @mani.cartoonz

Well, today I received this beautiful Christmas gift from my son – two canvas paintings he commissioned from my best friend’s granddaughter, now the third generation to support my obsession. I’ve admired this young lady’s talents since she was a toddler and I am proud to be the new owner of a set of mani.cartoonz originals.


©️2020 CSNelson, Don’t Forget the Half

(images may not be altered or used without expressed consent of, and credit given to, their owner)

Author:

You know, writing about myself has always been a challenge. It's not that I'm unsure of who I am but rather I like people to discover me on their own. I will tell you this much - I'M REAL! I guess that's all you need to know for a first approach; stick around and you'll understand the power behind that statement. What I do is another story! I embrace life hoping to live my purpose as a mother, daughter, sister, confidante and friend; I laugh, cry, and support; I admire, like and love; I listen, read and write. Most importantly, I have faith and thank God for all of me. My intent is to inspire others using my gifts and "Don't Forget the Half" reminds me to cast nothing aside. Want to know more? Discover along with me as I live my life out loud.

Leave a comment